Queue Types

Queues are used to hold pending customer requests in the order they were entered, and contain the service reasons for each of those groups. There are two types of queues, Customer Queue and Work Queue.

 

Customer Queue The department or group, used to hold walk-in customers. Each location maintains its own set of queues to keep check-in requests isolated from other locations. A customer   queue captures the total time the customer waited, and the length of service.
Work Queue A work queue is used for customers who are not present, or for situations where wait time is not applicable. For example, customers who email or call for assistance would be added to the Work Queue. Work queues only track time spent with the customer. Wait-time is not tracked because the customer is not present at the location. Work queues do not require a location.



Queue Visibility

A queue may only be assigned to one service location. Each location maintains its own set of queues, and they are only visible to the user(s) assigned to them. Queue assignment can be managed when editing a queue, or a user.


Queue Properties

Basic information regarding the queue.



Name Name of the service queue that is displayed.
Queue Type The queue type; Customer or Work queue. See description above.
Location The location that the queue is assigned to.
Status Whether the location is actively being used or not.
Max Wait Time The maximum time a customer will wait in the queue before LobbyCentral sends a 2nd notification to users. Overrides location max wait time.
Disable Max Wait Time When enabled, the max wait time is ignored.
Do not show in QMonitor The queue will not be displayed in QMonitor.


Queue Members

Users are assigned to the queue, and are displayed once they have been added.

 

Users Displays the names of all users added to the queue.
Add User List of users to select for the queue. To add a user, select the name from the drop-down list, and click Add User button.


Queue Services

Services are added to the queue, and are displayed once added.


 

Services Displays services added to the queue.
Category See Service Groups in Data Tables for more information. Default is set to All.
Available Services A list of available services. Select a service, and click the Add Service button to add it to the queue.

 


Adding A Queue

  1. In Settings, click Queues.
  2. In Manage Service Queues, click New Queue.
  3. Enter the name of queue.
  4. Select the queue type.
  5. Set the queue location.
  6. Click the Members tab.
  7. From the drop-down menu, select each user that will monitor and work this queue and click Add User.
  8. Click the Services tab.
  9. From the drop-down menu, select each Available Service that you will assign to this queue, and click Add Service (Hold the Ctrl button on your keyboard, to select more than one service at a time).
  10. Click Save.


Modifying A Queue

  1. In Settings, click Queues.
  2. In Manage Service Queues, locate the queue to update, and click Modify.
  3. Make the desired changes.
  4. Click Save.


Deleting A Queue

  1. In Settings, click Queues.
  2. In Manage Service Queues, locate the service to delete, and click Delete.
  3. Confirm that you want to delete the queue.


Note: You cannot delete a queue once it has been used. Modify the queue status to Inactive to prevent it from being used.